Now Your Trusted Friends Can Hack Your Facebook Account

Now Your Trusted Friends Can Hack Your Facebook Account

Now Your Trusted Friends Can Hack Your Facebook Account

Be very careful if a good day you receive the messages on Facebook from a friend asking for help to access his/her own profile, as it could be a scammer. The attack basically wants you to give access codes to your account to a person you’re supposed to trust.

It all starts when the hacker has already entered the account of one of your friends, then sends to your contacts an urgent message indicating that they need help to re-enter their own profile. And then simply Ask you to enter your email to get a verification code.

As the criminal had previously tried to log into your Facebook and had activated the “I forgot my password” option. So when you open your email you will find a Facebook recovery code, if you send it, the other person will have access to your Facebook profile.

It is easy to fall into this trap since in 2013 the social network giant Facebook actually implemented the “Trusted Contacts” function that allowed to choose between 3 and 5 friends to help recover the account in case of blockage, theft or if you forget the password. A quick Google search makes you think that the scammer really needs your help because this feature does exist.

To avoid being a victim of this new form of scam, the first thing to do is to contact the person via email or telephone and ask if he or she really need your help.

Another thing you should know is that the “Trusted Contacts” function sends codes to the chosen 3 or 5 contacts and then asked to re-enter the profile and to do so you need the codes of all, not just that of a single person.

Hence, we strongly recommend you to beware of this scam and whatever the code you receive in your email, simply read those emails carefully, so, in basic words, you have to be very attentive.

So, if you liked this article then simply do not forget to share this article with your friends and family.

Add Comment